Senior national cricketers take on Mozambique 2021 ICC Men’s T20 Cup

The continental showpiece unites six nations that want to make it into the global qualifying games of the ICC T20 World Cup for men.

Sixteen cricketers, led by cricket legend Steve Tikolo, traveled to Rwanda for the showdown last weekend.

They are Issa Kikasi, Riziki Kiseto, Athuman Kassim, Harsheed Chohan, Ally Mpeka, Nassib Kelvin, Ivan Ismail and Skipper Abhik Patwa.

Salum Jumbe, Kassim Nassor, Sanjay Bom, Jatin Darji, Mohamed Omary, Arshaan Jasani, Jitin Singh and Zamoyoni Ramadhan complete the list.

Before leaving for Rwanda, the national cricketers traveled to Mombasa at the invitation of the host Mombasa Sports Club to take part in this year’s T20 Coast Tournament.

The Tanzanian cricketers won the showcase convincingly and scored five games against Coast Mombasa Select XI.

The T20 Coast Tournament presented the coach of the national cricket team, Tikolo, with a platform that works on the weaknesses of his protégés.

According to the coach, the idea was to get the boys into competition mode before the actual tournament.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announced that the Rwanda Cricket Association (RCA) will host the subregional and regional finals for the African region’s qualifying events for the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.

The games of the two subregional tournaments and the Africa regional finals will be played in October / November 2021 at the Gahanga International Cricket Stadium and the IPRC (Integrated Polytechnic Regional College) Kicukiro Ground.

Rwanda hosted teams from Ghana, Lesotho, Malawi, the Seychelles, Swaziland and Uganda in subregional Africa. A qualifying round will take place from October 14th to 23rd.

Botswana, Cameroon, Mozambique, Sierra Leone and Tanzania should then compete in Sub Regional Africa B Qualifiers from October 31 to November 8, 2021.

The best team from both groups will advance to the regional finals in Africa, where they will compete with Nigeria and Kenya for the only qualifying spot in the ICC T20 Men’s World Cup qualification in 2022.

The regional finals will take place from November 15-21, 2021.

The regional development manager of ICC Africa, Patricia Kambarami, informed the host country and the participating nations about the decision in a written email dated July 7, 2021.

Nigeria and Kenya qualified for the 2019 global qualifiers along with Namibia from the 2019 edition of the regional finals in Africa.

However, in the 2021 edition, only the winner of the regional final will advance to the global qualifiers.

Even the number of sub-regional qualifiers that took place in the previous edition of the Africa region has been reduced by one.

About Sonia Martinez

Check Also

SeaLead launches IDEA service connecting India and UAE to East Africa

SeaLead has announced the launch of a new service connecting India and the United Arab …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.